Welcome to Hickman Studio Blog

I have created welded steel sculptures for more than 30 years.   

I learned to weld at Encinal High School in Alameda County, CA and Fort Hunt High School in Alexandria, VA.  My parents were Naval Officers and we moved every two years from the west coast to the east coast and back. 

After High School, I attended Oklahoma State Tech and majored in auto body repair where I gained more technical knowledge and skills in metal working and welding.

After moving to Raleigh, NC in 1979, I found myself working at the (now defunct) Ratskeller Restaurant on Hillsborough Street and worked my way up to manage the kitchen. 

While working at the “Rat”, I  found time to follow my passion for making sculpture.  I taught myself techniques and made objects that reflected my take on the world around me.  I also amassed a collection of more than 100 books on art history and artist biographies.  Books on Picasso are the largest part of my collection. 

 I was accepted as a member of Artspace, Inc. in 1989 and rented a studio until 1991. Since 1991, I have been making welded steel sculpture in the workshop behind my home in the Five Points neighborhood of Raleigh.

~ by billhickman on October 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
